LIQUOR ACT 1975

APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRPERSON AND MEMBERS TO THE LIQUOR LICENSING BOARD

EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM

INSTRUMENT NO. 106 OF 2000

The Liquor Licensing Board (the Board), which is established under section 10 of the *Liquor Act 1975* (the Act), is a statutory board appointed by the Attorney-General.

The Board consists of 5 members. The Chairperson, who must be a legal practitioner of 5 years standing, and 3 other members are all appointed by the Minister. The Registrar of Liquor Licences is an ex officio member of the Board.

The Board's function are to consider the more contentious applications under the Act; conduct hearings in relation to allegations of non-compliance by liquor licensees and liquor permit holders; and advise the Minister, as required, on matters of policy and administration in relation to the Act.

The appointments of the previous Board all expired in December 1999. The Attorney-General has made the following appointments to the Board -

Mr Alyn Doig, Chairperson; Mr Bernard Morrison; Member; Mr Kevin Neil, Member; Ms Hilary Back, Member.

The instruments appoint the above members of the Board until 31 December 2004. All members have not previously held an appointment on the Board.

In accordance with the Statutory Appointments Act 1994, the Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety has considered the appointment and has no objections.