Official Visitor (Chair) Appointment 2023

Disallowable instrument DI2023-224

made under the

Official Visitor Act 2012, s 23B(2)(a) (Membership of the official visitors board)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Section 23B(2)(a) of the *Official Visitor Act 2012* (OV Act) authorises the Minister to appoint the chair of the official visitors board.

The official visitors board is made up of the chair, the public trustee and guardian; at least 1 commissioner under the Human Rights Commission Act 2005, two official visitors elected by the official visitors and any other member appointed by the Minister.

The official visitors board is responsible for oversight of the exercise of official visitors' functions. The board arranges recruitment, induction, training and support of official visitors and considers and seeks to resolve any complaints. The board is also responsible for providing an annual report for the official visitor scheme to the Minister.

The chair is responsible for calling meetings of the official visitor board and arranging an official visitors executive officer to support the board in the exercise of its functions. The chair provides support to the executive officer to discharge these duties.

This instrument appoints Mr Peter Muir for the purposes of the OV Act for a period of three years. Mr Muir is not a public servant as defined under the *Legislation Act 2001*.

Tara Cheyne MLA is Minister responsible for the OV Act (as appointing Minister).

Section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001* requires that the appointment be referred to the relevant Legislative Assembly Standing Committee for consultation. The Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety has been consulted about the appointment of Mr Muir.