## Gene Technology (GM Crop Moratorium) Advisory Council Appointment 2024 (No 1)

## Disallowable instrument DI2024-73

made under the

Gene Technology (GM Crop Moratorium) Act 2004, section 11 (Advisory Council)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

The ACT Gene Technology Advisory Council (the Council) is established under section 11 of the *Gene Technology (GM Crop Moratorium) Act 2004* (the Act). Under subsection 11 (2) of the Act, the Council consists of eight (8) members, appointed by the Minister for Population Health.

The purpose of the Act is to designate the ACT as an area in which certain genetically modified (GM) food plants may not be cultivated, in order to preserve the identify of GM and/or non-GM crops for marketing purposes.

The instrument appointments Dr Jai Denton to be a member of the ACT Gene Technology Advisory Council until 26 April 2027.

Dr Denton was nominated as a member of the Council by the Canberra Region Branch Biotechnology Group of AusBiotech and is not a public servant.