ACT Teacher Quality Institute Board Appointment 2024 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2024-209

made under the

ACT Teacher Quality Institute Act 2010, Division 3.2, sections 14 and 15 and Financial Management Act 1996 section 78.

Explanatory Statement

Overview

Section 14 of the *Teacher Quality Institute Act 2010* establishes the Teacher Quality Institute Board. Members of the board, including the chair, are appointed by the Minister for Education and Youth Affairs under section 15 of the Act. The Minister is required to appoint 13 members as specified in S15(2) (a-m). S15 (1) allows the Minister to appoint up to 15 members.

The TQI Board must include the following members: chair, the chief executive officer, member nominated by the Director-General; member nominated by the Association of Independent Schools of the ACT; member nominated by Catholic Education; Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn; member nominated by the Australian Education Union; member nominated by the NSW/ACT Independent Education Union; member nominated by the University of Canberra; member nominated by the Australian Catholic University (ACU), ACT Campus; member to represent teachers and principals of government schools; member to represent teachers and one member to represent the community.

The determination is a disallowable instrument for the purpose of division 19.3.3 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

Appointment

Mr Andrew Wrigley is the member nominated by the Association of Independent Schools of the ACT. (AIS). Mr Wrigley will have been on the Board for three years when his term expires on 26 July 2024. Mr Wrigley is eligible for reappointment. Dr Justin Garrick, Chair, AIS Board, nominated Mr Wrigley for reappointment.

The appointee is not an ACT public servant, and this instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under s 229 of the Legislation Act, the appointment instrument is a disallowable instrument.

The Standing Committee on Education and Community Inclusion was consulted in accordance with section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001* (Consultation with appropriate Assembly committee) and has no objections to the appointment.