ACT Teacher Quality Institute Board Appointment 2024 (No 4)

Notifiable instrument NI2024-403

made under the

ACT Teacher Quality Institute Act 2010, Division 3.2, sections 14 and 15 and Financial Management Act 1996 section 78.

Explanatory Statement

Overview

Section 14 of the *Teacher Quality Institute Act 2010* establishes the Teacher Quality Institute Board. Members of the board, including the chair, are appointed by the Minister for Education and Youth Affairs under section 15 of the Act. The Minister is required to appoint 13 members as specified in S15(2) (a-m). S15 (1) allows the Minister to appoint up to 15 members.

The TQI Board must include the following members: chair, the chief executive officer, member nominated by the Director-General; member nominated by the Association of Independent Schools of the ACT; member nominated by Catholic Education; Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn; member nominated by the Australian Education Union; member nominated by the NSW/ACT Independent Education Union; member nominated by the University of Canberra; member nominated by the Australian Catholic University (ACU), ACT Campus; member to represent teachers and principals of government schools; member to represent teachers and one member to represent the community.

Appointment

Ms Sam Seton is the member nominated by the Director-General under S15 (1) (c) of the *Teacher Quality Institute Act 2010.* Ms Katy Haire, Director-General, Education, nominated Ms Seton.

The appointee is an ACT public servant.

The Standing Committee on Education and Community Inclusion was consulted and has no objections to the appointment.