Animal Welfare (Advisory Committee Member) Appointment 2024 (No 4)

Disallowable instrument DI2024–239

made under the

Animal Welfare Act 1992, s 109 (Establishment and Functions) read with Animal Welfare (Advisory Committee) Establishment 2020 (No 1), ss 4, 5

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Part 9 of the *Animal Welfare Act 1992* (the Act) establishes the Animal Welfare Advisory Committee and sets out its functions. Section 109 of the Act provides the functions of the Committee. This instrument is made in conjunction with DI2020-147 the *Animal Welfare (Advisory Committee) Establishment 2020 (No 1)*.

DI2020-147 provides that the Committee consists of 11 members appointed by the Minister and provides the make-up of the Committee.

Under Section 4 (2) of the Committee Establishment instrument provides that members can be appointed to the Committee for a term of no longer than three years.

This instrument appoints Ms Yolandi Vermaak to the Animal Welfare Advisory Committee as a person nominated by a community-based organisation involved in native wildlife matters (Category 8) for a period of three years.

Dr Vermaak is not a public servant. Division 19.3.3 of the *Legislation Act 2001* applies to this appointment. Prior to making this appointment, in accordance with section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Minister consulted the Legislative Assembly's Standing Committee on Planning, Transport and City Services who did not object to this appointment.