AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

and the second state of the second states of the second states of the second states of the second states of the

the state of the state of the second state of the

Health Act 1993

INSTRUMENT NO. 40 OF 2000

APPOINTMENT TO THE ACT HEALTH AND COMMUNITY CARE HUMAN RESEARCH ETHICS COMMITTEE

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The ACT Health and Community Care Human Research Ethics Committee is appointed by the Minister for Health and Community Care to consider proposed research projects and determine whether they are acceptable on ethical and scientific grounds.

The Ethics Committee operates in accordance with the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) guidelines.

The NHMRC guidelines state that it is a requirement that the membership of the Ethics Committee include a laywoman and layman, not associated with the institution, a minister of religion, a lawyer, a medical graduate with research experience and a person providing professional health care. The ACT Committee also comprises an ACT Community Care representative, a Chief Pharmacist, and representatives from Clinical and Nursing Services of The Canberra Hospital.

The Government has reappointed Ms Elizabeth Grant AM, Ms Camilla Webster, Mr Vince Sharma, Mr Justin Keller, Ms Susan Alexander, Ms Anne Gardner, Associate Professor Nicholas Glasgow and Associate Professor Robin Stuart-Harris as members of the Committee.

The Government has also appointed Associate Professor David Le Couteur, Reverend Elaine Farmer and Mr Howard Bath as members of the Committee.

Ms Elizabeth Grant AM, is a Director with Commerce Management Services and a registered pharmacist. Ms Grant is appointed as Laywoman and Chair.

Ms Camilla Webster, is a Senior Assistant parliamentary Counsel for the Commonwealth Office of Parliamentary Counsel. Ms Webster is appointed as Lawyer.

Mr Vince Sharma, is a legal consultant with Sparke Helmore lawyers. Mr Sharma is appointed as Lawyer.

Mr Justin Keller, is a Managing Director of EDINFORMA, an educational consultancy firm. Mr Keller is appointed as Layman.

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au

Ms Susan Alexander, is the Chief Pharmacist at The Canberra Hospital. Ms Alexander is appointed as Chief Pharmacist The Canberra Hospital representative.

and the share of the state of the

Ms Anne Gardner, is Assistant Director of Nursing Research at The Canberra Hospital. Ms Gardner is appointed as Nursing Services, The Canberra Hospital representative.

Associate Professor Nicholas Glasgow is the Associate Professor and Chair, Academic General Practice Unit, Canberra Clinical School of the University of Sydney. Professor Glasgow is appointed as the ACT Community Care representative.

Associate Professor Robin Stuart-Harris is the Senior Staff Specialist, Medical Oncology Unit at The Canberra Hospital. Professor Stuart-Harris is appointed as Senior Clinician representative.

Associate Professor David Le Couteur is the Director of Clinical Pharmacology at The Canberra Hospital. Professor Le Couteur is appointed as Medical Graduate with research experience.

Reverend Elaine Farmer is the Honorary Associate Priest at St Paul's Anglican Church. Reverend Farmer is appointed as Minister of Religion.

Mr Howard Bath a consultant with the Marymead Child & Family Centre and a Psychologist. Mr Bath is appointed as person providing profession health care.

Consultation with the Standing Committee on Health and Community Care has taken place in accordance with the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994*.