Australian Capital Territory

## University of Canberra Council Appointment 2025 (No 2)

## Disallowable instrument DI2025–19

made under the

University of Canberra Act 1989, Section 11 (Constitution of council)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

This instrument appoints Mr Kieran Hynes as a member of the University of Canberra Council (the UC Council) for a period of three years. The appointee is not a public servant, and the determination is a disallowable instrument for the purpose of division 19.3.3 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

The University of Canberra Act 1989 (the UC Act) governs the establishment and governance arrangements of the University of Canberra. The powers and functions of the UC Council are established by division 2.2 of the UC Act.

Section 11 (1) (d) of the UC Act requires eight of the members of the UC Council to be appointed by the Minister. Section 11A (1) of the UC Act permits the UC Council to make recommendations to the Minister for such appointments.

In making such appointments, sections 11A (2) and 11A (3) of the UC Act require the Minister to "have regard to the desirability of ensuring there is a balance of skills, expertise and gender among members of the council," and, "ensure that the members appointed have skills . . . to contribute to the effective working of the council; and, have an appreciation of the values of a higher education provider."

Sections 11A (5) and 12 of the UC Act prohibit the appointment of certain persons to the UC Council, to include elected officials, staff and students of UC, persons disqualified from running corporations, and persons convicted of certain offences.

The appointment of Mr Hynes is being made on the recommendation of the UC Council, after consultation with Diversity Offices, following review by the Executive, and after consultation with the Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Social Policy.