AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

CANBERRA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY ACT 1987

REAPPOINTMENTS

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

INSTRUMENT NO. 218 OF 1998

The Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987 provides legislation covering technical and further education.

Section 28 of the Act establishes the Canberra Institute of Technology Advisory Council (CITAC) and Section 30 provides for the appointment of members to CITAC by the Minister.

The Minister has reappointed Dr Sarah Ryan as part-time Deputy Chairperson of CITAC until 31 July 2001.

In accordance with Section 4 of the Statutory Appointments Act 1994 the Standing Committee on Education was consulted on the reappointment.