## EXPLANATORY STATEMENT INSTRUMENT NO. 258 OF 1997

## APPOINTMENT OF BRIAN JOHN EGLOFF TO THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY HERITAGE COUNCIL

The Land (Planning and Environment) Act 1991 (the "Land Act") governs the use of land in the Territory including the conservation of the Territory's Hentage places.

Part III, section 91, of the Land Act establishes the ACT Heritage Council. Members of Council are appointed by the Minister under section 97.

Members are appointed for a maximum period of three years, after which they may be re-appointed for a further maximum period of three years. A break of three years must then lapse before a member can be further reappointed

This instrument appoints Dr Egloff to be a member of the Council for a period of 3 years commencing on 21 November 1997.

A brief Resume of Dr Egloff's background is attached.

Section 7 of the Subordinate Laws Act 1989 prevents a subordinate law from having effect if it would prejudice the rights of a person existing at the date of notification, or if liabilities would be imposed on a person in respect of any act or omission before the date of notification. Neither circumstance will arise from the act of appointing the person named herein to the specified position

## Dr Brian Egloff

Dr Egloff is a Senior Lecturer, National Centre for Cultural Hentage Science Studies at the University of Canberra a position he has held since 1993. Prior to this he worked for the NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service and for six years was the Manager of the Port Arthur Conservation and Development Project. He recently advised the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs on the granting of the Jervis Bay National Park to the Wreck Bay Aboriginal Community's Council His professional focus lies in the fields of prehistory and historical archaeology. Dr Egloff was an Academy of Humanities exchange Scholar with the Royal Swedish Academy of Letters, History and Antiquities in 1995 He continues ongoing work on further research and reconstruction at the Tam Ting Caves and with the Aboriginal communities on the South coast of New South Wales, in particular in the region of Jervis Bay.