AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981 Pharmacy Act 1931

APPOINTMENTS TO THE PHARMACY BOARD OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM

The Pharmacy Act 1931 (the Act) provides for the registration of Pharmacists.

Section 5 of the Act establishes the Pharmacy Board (the Board) and provides for the constitution of the Board. Paragraph 6(1)(a) requires that the Chairperson and three other members be appointed in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act* 1981.

Subsection 6(2) provides that a person is not eligible for appointment unless currently registered and for a period of 3 years immediately preceding his or her appointment has been registered as a pharmacist under the law of a State or Territory.

Vacancies on the Board were notified by a notice mailed to all registered pharmacists. Closing date for nominations was the 28th November 1997. The positions of chairperson and the three appointed members on the Board become vacant on 4 June 1998.

In making the appointments consideration was given to gender equity, representation from different aspects of pharmacy practice and the continuity of Board business.

Six persons nominated for positions on the Board, Mrs Alexander a hospital pharmacist is currently the Chairperson of the Board and has sought a further term of office.

Mr William Arnold a community pharmacist is currently a member of the Board and is seeking a further term of office.

Mrs Ruth Giesel a hospital pharmacist is currently a member of the Board and is seeking a further term of office.

Mr William Kelly, is currently in an administrative position directly related to pharmacy practice and is seeking to become a member of the Board.

Mrs Jessica Baxter is a hospital pharmacist and is seeking to become a member of the Board.

Mr John Gregan is a technical and business consultant and locum pharmacist and is seeking to become a member of the Board.

All six applicants are eligible for appointment. Appointments to the Board are for a period of three years commencing from the date of the Instrument of Appointment.

After consideration by Government the appointments were referred to the Standing Committee on Health and Community Care in accordance with the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994*. The Committee had no objections to the appointments proceeding.