AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

Health and Community Care Services Act 1996

APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRPERSON, DEPUTY CHAIRPERSON AND MEMBERS TO THE HEALTH AND COMMUNITY CARE SERVICE BOARD

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

INSTRUMENT No's 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 & 11 of 1997

The Health and Community Care Services Act 1996 ("the Act") provides for the establishment of ACT Health and Community Care Service ("the Service")

Section 11 of the Act establishes the Health and Community Care Service Board ("the Board") to control the affairs of the Service

Section 14 provides that the Board will consist of.

- persons holding the title of Chief Executive within the Health and Community Care Service (as *ex officio* members);
- one person nominated by the University of Sydney, and
- not more than four persons appointed by the Minister.

The University of Sydney has nominated Dr Paul Gatenby, Dean of the Canberra Clinical School, to sit on the Board.

These appointments are for the inaugural establishment of the Board Of the four appointed members, two will be appointed for four years and two for two years. In future all appointments will be for four years. This staggered approach to the appointment of members will provide for continuity in the Board's administration.

A notice seeking expressions of interest in membership of the Board was advertised in July 1996 Nineteen applications were received.

The Minister has appointed Mr Peter McPhillips and Ms Prue Power to serve on the Board for four years, and Dr Jennifer Thomson and Ms Elizabeth Goodbody to serve as Members for two years.

Mr McPhillips is the managing partner at Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu and has experience on hospital boards and in hospital administration.

Ms Power is the Director of General Practice Policy at the Australian Medical Association and has considerable experience in a range of health policy and service delivery environments.

Dr Thomson is a registered Medical Practitioner. She is also the State Director of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners.

Ms Goodbody is a consultant with Price Waterhouse with over seventeen years experience in commercial advisory services. She has also served in a number of public and community organisations.

Under Section 26 of the Act, the Minister is required to appoint a Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson from the appointed Members of the Board.

The Minister has appointed Mr Peter McPhillips as Chair of the Board and Ms Elizabeth Goodbody as Deputy Chairperson.

The proposed Ministerial appointees were referred to the Assembly Standing Committee on Social Policy in accordance with the Statutory Appointments Act 1994.