Australian Capital Territory

University of Canberra Council Appointment 2003 (No. 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2003—312

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Section 11(1)(d) of the *University of Canberra Act 1989* (the Act) provides that the Chief Minister will appoint 10 persons to the Council of the University of Canberra.

Subsection 11(4) provides, amongst other things, that the members of the Council appointed by the Chief Minister will hold office for a period not exceeding 4 years as specified in the relevant instrument of appointment.

A vacancy has arisen on the Council of the University of Canberra for a person appointed by the Chief Minister. By this instrument, the Chief Minister appoints Mr Ian Davis as a member of the Council for four years from 1 December 2003.

This appointment has been approved by the Chief Minister, and in accordance with section 228 (consultation with appropriate Assembly committee) of the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Chief Minister consulted the Standing Committee on Education regarding this appointment. The Committee considered and noted the proposed appointment.

The appointee is not a Public Servant and this instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under the *Legislation Act 2001*, s.229 the instrument is a disallowable instrument.