AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

Occupational Health and Safety Act 1989

Appointment

No. 116 of 1997

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Section 9 of the *Occupational Health and Safety Act 1989* establishes the Occupational Health and Safety Council

Section 13(1) of the Act provides that the Council shall consist of

- (a) 4 members appointed by the Minister after consultation with such persons or bodies as the Minister considers represent the interests of employees;
- (b) 4 members appointed by the Minister after consultation with such persons or bodies as the Minister considers represent the interests of employers; and
 - (c) 4 other members appointed by the Minister.

This Instrument appoints Jeremy Dorian Pyner, to represent the interests of employees, and David Charles Segrott, to represent the workers' compensation insurance industry, as members of the Occupational Health and Safety Council for a period of 3 years from the date of Gazettal These appointments have been referred to the Standing Committee on Social Policy, as required by the Statutory Appointments Act 1994, and the Committee has raised no objection to the appointments

Circulated by the Authority of Trevor Thomas Kaine MLA, Minister for Industrial Relations

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au