#### AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

### **CHILDREN'S SERVICES ACT 1986**

# **APPOINTMENTS**

### **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

## INSTRUMENT NO'S. 222 - 224 OF 1997

The Children's Services Act 1986 provides legislation covering the welfare of children.

Section 13 of the Act establishes the Children's Services Council and also provides for the appointment of members to the body by the Minister.

On 24 July 1996 the Minister made the following part-time appointments requiring gazettal to the Children's Services Council for the period up to and including 10 June 1999

- Dianne Proctor Chairperson
- Betsy Gallagher Member
- Linda Crebbin Member

Because of an administrative oversight these appointments were not gazetted at the time and retrospective gazettal is required for the following current members of Children's Services Council

- Dianne Proctor Chairperson
- Betsy Gallagher Member
- Linda Crebbin Member

In accordance with Section 4 of the Statutory Appointments Act 1994 the Standing Committee on Social Policy was consulted on all the appointments