CEMETERIES AND CREMATORIA ACT 2003 CEMETERIES AND CREMATORIA (APPOINTMENTS) 2003 (No 1) INSTRUMENT OF APPOINTMENT 2003

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

DI 2003—322

The *Cemeteries and Crematoria Act 2003* provides for the establishment of the ACT Public Cemeteries Board.

All the members of the Board are appointed by the Minister under Section 33 of that Act.

The Minister is now making acting appointments as Board members for the period to 26 March 2004, to provide a functioning board following passage of the legislation. The Board members are appointed for their experience and expertise in a variety of fields including business, community service, religious practices, accounting, public relations and trust management.

The Board members to be appointed are Mr Robert Smeaton* (Chair), Mr Paul Perkins (Deputy Chair), Ms Jean Main*, Mr Derek Roylance*, Ms Diane Kargas and Ms Noelia Pinto-Martone*. Those members marked * were previously trustees of the Canberra Public Cemeteries under the previous legislation (*Cemeteries Act 1933*).

Ms Kargas is a public servant, occupying the position as Public Trustee for the ACT.

The Standing Committee on Planning and Environment has been advised of the acting appointments.