# No. 41, Friday 19 March 1993

# **Redistribution Committee for the Australian Capital Territory**

# ACT Redistribution 1993

# ACT Legislative Assembly Electoral Boundaries

# PUBLIC SUGGESTIONS AND COMMENTS

Members of the public, political parties and other organisations are invited to make suggestions to the Redistribution Committee for the Australian Capital Territory on proposed electoral boundaries for ACT Legislative Assembly elections. Comments are also invited on these public suggestions.

#### WHY IS A REDISTRIBUTION TAKING PLACE?

On 15 February 1992 a referendum was held to enable the electors of the ACT to choose a voting system to be used at future elections for the Legislative Assembly. A majority of electors chose the proportional representation (Hare–Clark) system The Legislative Assembly subsequently passed the *Electoral Act 1992*, providing for the division of the ACT into three electorates, as the first stage of implementing the Hare–Clark system. Two electorates will elect five members to the Legislative Assembly, and one electorate will elect seven members

#### WHO IS ON THE REDISTRIBUTION COMMITTEE?

The Redistribution Committee consists of the Electoral Commissioner (Mr Gary Whitley), the Chief Planner (Mr George Tomlins), the Chief Surveyor (Mr Edwin Hyde) and an appointed member (Mrs Jan Woodward). The Committee has the task of producing a proposed set of boundaries and names for electorates for the ACT Legislative Assembly.

# THE REDISTRIBUTION PROCESS

The redistribution is carried out in accordance with the *Electoral Act 1992*. There are several opportunities for public participation throughout the redistribution process.

# Step 1 – Public suggestions

Before the Redistribution Committee makes its proposal, any interested persons or organisations who wish to make suggestions regarding the redistribution, and in particular possible boundaries or names of electorates, are given 28 days to forward them in writing to the Redistribution Committee. The Committee has formally invited public suggestions in the ACT Government *Gazette* on Friday, 19 March 1993. Suggestions must be received by **Friday 16 April 1993**.

# Step 2 – Comments on the public suggestions

The public suggestions will then be made available for public inspection. Any comments on the suggestions must be lodged in writing within 14 days. The closing date for comments is **Friday 30 April 1993**.

# Step 3 – The first proposed redistribution

The Redistribution Committee considers the public suggestions and comments before making a proposed redistribution. Maps showing the proposed boundaries and names of the electorates will then be published in a newspaper and exhibited at the Office of the ACT Electoral Commission.

# Step 4 – Objections to the proposed redistribution

Following the publication of the first proposed redistribution there will be 28 days within which initial objections to the proposed redistribution may be lodged by members of the public or organisations.

#### Step 5 – Objections considered by the augmented Electoral Commission

The objections are considered by the augmented Electoral Commission. The augmented Electoral Commission comprises the Chairperson of the ACT Electoral Commission (Mr Graham Glenn) and the third Commissioner (Dr Christabel Young), sitting together with the members of the Redistribution Committee. The augmented Electoral Commission may hold public hearings into objections.

#### Step 6 – The second proposed redistribution

After it has considered all the initial objections lodged, the augmented Electoral Commission makes a second proposed redistribution. If this second proposal is not significantly different from the first proposal, the second set of proposed boundaries will become the final boundaries for the ACT.

#### Step 7 – Further objections

If the second proposal is significantly different from the proposal made by the Redistribution Committee, the augmented Electoral Commission will invite further objections from members of the public or organisations. Further objections must be lodged within 28 days.

# Step 8 – Final determination

The augmented Electoral Commission will then consider any further objections. The augmented Electoral Commission may again hold public hearings into objections. Following its consideration of all objections, it will make a final determination of boundaries and names of electorates for the ACT.

#### **GUIDELINES FOR PUBLIC SUBMISSIONS**

Written suggestions relating to the redistribution of ACT Legislative Assembly electorates must be lodged with the Redistribution Committee on or before **16 April 1993**.

Suggestions should be lodged with the Redistribution Committee at:

Office of the ACT Electoral Commission 3rd Floor ACT Administration Centre 1 Constitution Avenue CANBERRA CITY ACT 2601 Telephone: (06) 205 0236

Postal address: PO Box 272 CIVIC SQUARE ACT 2608

Copies of all suggestions received by the Committee will be available for public inspection at that Office from **17 April 1993**.

Written comments relating to any of the suggestions lodged may be made at this stage. Comments must be lodged with the Committee by **30 April 1993**.

It is important to note that these deadlines are set by legislation, and accordingly late submissions will not be accepted.

#### Legal requirements for a redistribution

In making its proposed redistribution, the Redistribution Committee is bound by section 30 of the *Electoral Act 1992*, and section 67D of the Commonwealth *Australian Capital Territory (Self–Government Act) 1988*. The Self Government Act sets out the following formula for calculating a **guota**:

Number of Territory electors X Number of electorate members Number of Territory members

In summary, the Electoral Act and the Self-Government Act provide that the Redistribution Committee shall -

- (a) ensure that the number of electors in an electorate immediately after the redistribution is within the range of not greater than 110%, or less than 90% of the quota;
- (b) endeavour to ensure, as far as practicable, that the number of electors in an electorate at the time of the next general election of members of the Legislative Assembly will not be greater than 105%, or less than 95%, of the expected quota for the electorate at that time; and

- (c) duly consider -
  - (i) the community of interests within each proposed electorate, including economic, social and regional interests;
  - (ii) the means of communication and travel within each proposed electorate;
  - (iii) the physical features and area of each proposed electorate;
  - (iv) the boundaries of existing electorates; and
  - (v) the boundaries of divisions and sections fixed under the Districts Act 1966.

#### More information

The ACT Electoral Commission is making available electoral enrolment information for use by interested persons and organisations. Statistics relating to current enrolment and projected enrolment at the expected time of the next election are being made available in booklet form.

Statistics and any other information related to the redistribution can be obtained from the Office of the ACT Electoral Commission at the above address.

Copies of the Electoral Act 1992 and the Australian Capital Territory (Self-Government Act) 1988 can be obtained from the Commonwealth Government Bookshop.

Redistribution Committee for the Australian Capital Territory Gary Whitley George Tomlins Edwin Hyde Jan Woodward

Printed by Liz Harley, ACT Government Printer by the Authority of the ACT Executive © Australian Capital Territory, 1993