Electoral (Proposed redistribution of electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly) Notice 2011

Notifiable instrument NI 2011 -223

made under the

Electoral Act 1992, s 44 (Notification and publication of proposal)

1 Name of instrument

This instrument is the *Electoral (Proposed redistribution of electoral boundaries) Notice* 2011.

2 Commencement

This instrument commences on the day after it is notified.

3 Proposed redistribution of electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly

The 2011 ACT Redistribution Committee has prepared a proposed redistribution of the ACT Legislative Assembly electoral boundaries.

This notice shows a map of the proposed electorates. Members of the public, political parties and other organisations may make objections to the proposed electoral boundaries to the ACT Electoral Commission.

Proposed Redistribution

The Committee proposes that the current electoral boundaries for the ACT Legislative Assembly be altered as follows:

- The suburbs of Palmerston and Crace be transferred from Molonglo to Ginninderra;
- The portion of the district of Gungahlin bounded by the suburbs of Palmerston and Crace and Barton Highway and Gungahlin Drive be transferred from Molonglo to Ginninderra; and
- The portion of the district of Molonglo Valley north of the Molonglo River be transferred from Ginninderra to Molonglo.

The proposed electorates are as follows:

BRINDABELLA, a five member electorate comprising the district of Tuggeranong (excluding the suburb of Hume), the Woden Valley suburbs of Chifley, Farrer, Pearce and Torrens and the districts of Booth, Coree, Cotter River, Paddys River, Rendezvous Creek, Tennent and Mount Clear;

GINNINDERRA, a five member electorate comprising the districts of Belconnen and Hall (including the entire village of Hall) and the Gungahlin suburbs of Crace, Nicholls and Palmerston; and

MOLONGLO, a seven member electorate comprising the districts of Gungahlin (excluding the suburbs of Crace, Nicholls and Palmerston), Canberra Central, Molonglo Valley, Weston Creek, Woden Valley (excluding the suburbs of Chifley, Farrer, Pearce and Torrens), Jerrabomberra (including the entire suburb of Hume), Kowen, Majura, and Stromlo.

The redistribution is being carried out in accordance with the *Electoral Act 1992*.

More detailed information, including a statement by the Committee giving reasons for its proposed redistribution, a map showing the names and boundaries of the proposed electorates and a statistical summary showing the composition of each proposed electorate can be obtained from the office of the ACT Electoral Commission, or from the Commission's website at www.elections.act.gov.au. Also available are copies of the suggestions provided to the Committee by members of the public.

Objections

Written objections must be lodged with the ACT Electoral Commission by 2 June 2011.

Objections should be lodged at:

ACT Electoral Commission Ground floor, North Building Civic Square, London Circuit CANBERRA ACT 2601

Phone: (02) 6205 0033 Fax: (02) 6205 0382

Email: elections@act.gov.au

Postal Address: PO Box 272, CIVIC SQUARE ACT 2608

Who considers objections?

Objections to the Redistribution Committee's proposal will be considered by the Augmented ACT Electoral Commission. The Augmented Commission consists of the Chairperson of the ACT Electoral Commission (Mr Roger Beale), the Electoral Commissioner (Mr Phillip Green, who is chairperson of the Redistribution Committee), the third member of the ACT Electoral Commission (Ms Dawn Casey) and the other members of the Redistribution Committee: the Chief Planning Executive, ACT Planning and Land Authority (Mr Neil

Savery), the ACT Surveyor-General (Mr Bill Hirst) and the Regional Director, ACT Office, Australian Bureau of Statistics (Mr Stephen Collett). The Augmented Commission may hold public hearings into objections to the proposed redistribution.

Phillip Green Neil Savery Bill Hirst Stephen Collett

Redistribution Committee for the Australian Capital Territory 2 May 2011

