Australian Capital Territory

Public Health (COVID-19 Interstate Hotspots) Emergency Direction 2020 (No 3)

Notifiable Instrument NI2020–393

made under the

Public Health Act 1997, s 120 (Emergency actions and directions)

1. Name of instrument

This instrument is the Public Health (COVID-19 Interstate Hotspots) Emergency Direction 2020 (No 3).

2. Commencement

This instrument commences at 11.59pm on 6 July 2020.

3. Public Health Emergency Direction

I, Dr Kerryn Coleman, Chief Health Officer, consider it necessary or desirable to alleviate the emergency declared under the *Public Health (Emergency) Declaration 2020 (No 1)* [NI2020-153] (the **declared emergency**) on 16 March 2020, to give the directions as set out in the schedule.

4. Duration

This Direction is in force for the period ending on the day the declared emergency (as extended or further extended) ends, unless it is earlier revoked.

5. Revocation

This Direction revokes and replaces the *Public Health* (*COVID-19 Interstate Hotspots*) *Emergency Direction* (*No 2*) [NI2020-390]

Dr Kerryn Coleman Chief Health Officer

6 July 2020



Public Health Emergency Direction

Public Health Act 1997

Made under the Public Health Act 1997, section 120 (Emergency actions and directions)

I, Dr Kerryn Coleman, Chief Health Officer, consider it necessary or desirable to alleviate the emergency declared under the *Public Health (Emergency) Declaration 2020 (No 1)* [NI2020-153] (the **declared emergency**) on 16 March 2020, to give the directions as set out below.

The purpose of this Direction is to limit the spread of coronavirus disease 2019 (**COVID-19**), caused by the novel coronavirus SARS-CoV-2.

PART 1 – QUARANTINE FOLLOWING TRAVEL TO AND FROM COVID-19 HOTSPOTS

Direction

- 1. From 11.59pm on 6 July 2020, an **affected person** who arrives into the Australian Capital Territory must:
 - a. travel immediately to **designated premises** to undertake a **period of quarantine**; and
 - b. not leave the designated premises other than in an emergency; and
 - c. not permit any other person that does not reside at the **designated premises** to enter the premises, unless for medical, law enforcement or emergency purposes; and
 - d. comply with any request by an **authorised person** to produce proof of identification.

PART 2 — MATTERS RELEVANT TO THESE DIRECTIONS

- 2. For the purposes of Part 1, the point at which a person arrives into the Australian Capital Territory means:
 - a. for travel by air from the Canberra airport;
 - b. for travel by bus from the bus station or other place where the person disembarks;
 - c. for travel by train from the train station where the person disembarks;
 - d. for travel by car from the point at which the car crosses the border from New South Wales into the Australian Capital Territory; and
 - e. by any other means from the point at which the person crosses the border from New South Wales into the Australian Capital Territory.

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au



- 3. The Chief Health Officer may, in writing and subject to any conditions that the Chief Health Officer considers necessary, exempt a person from the directions in Part 1.
- 4. An **authorised person** may, in writing and subject to any conditions that the **authorised person** considers necessary, exempt a person from the full **period of quarantine**.

Enforcement

- 5. If a person fails to comply with this Direction, an **authorised person** may direct the person to do such things as are reasonably necessary to comply with this Direction including, upon request, to produce proof of identification to the **authorised person**.
- 6. If a person fails to comply with any direction given under paragraph 5, then the **authorised person** may take all reasonable steps to enforce compliance with the direction.
- 7. An **affected person** who arrives in the Australian Capital Territory must notify ACT Health at the point of their arrival.

Guidance

8. If a person tests positive to COVID-19 during the quarantine period they must comply with the *Public Health (Self-Isolation) Emergency Direction 2020* [NI2020-177].

Definitions

For the purposes of these directions:

- **9.** Affected person means a person who has been in a COVID-19 hotspot within the previous 14 days, other than a person who transits through a COVID-19 hotspot by road or rail, including to attend an airport, provided the person does not exit the motor vehicle or train in which the person is travelling while in the COVID-19 hotspot.
- 10. **Authorised person** means an authorised person under section 121 of the *Public Health Act 1997*.
- 11. **COVID-19 hotspot** means an area outside of the Australian Capital Territory that is specified in Schedule 1.
- 12. Unless stated otherwise in writing by the Chief Health Officer, **designated premises** means:
 - a. the person's usual place of residence or other premises that is suitable for the person to reside in for a **period of quarantine**; or
 - b. if the person is not normally a resident of the Australian Capital Territory, a hotel or other premises that is suitable for the person to reside in for **period of quarantine**.

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au



13. A **period of quarantine** means a period of 14 days, including any period of time that has already elapsed since the person was last in a **COVID-19 hotspot**, prior to arrival in the Australian Capital Territory.

PENALTIES

Section 120 (4) of the Public Health Act 1997 provides:

A person must not, without reasonable excuse, fail to comply with a direction under this section.

Maximum Penalty:

In the case of a natural person, \$8,000 (50 penalty units).

.....

Dr Kerryn Coleman

Chief Health Officer

6 July 2020

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel—also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au



SCHEDULE 1 – COVID-19 HOTSPOTS

Local Government Areas (excluding Melbourne Tullamarine Airport)

Banyule City	Bayside City
Boroondara City	Brimbank City
Cardinia Shire	Casey City
Darebin City	Frankston City
Glen Eira City	Greater Dandenong City
Greater Geelong City	Hobsons Bay City
Hume City	Kingston City
Knox City	Macedon Ranges Shire
Manningham City	Maribyrnong City
Maroondah City	Melbourne City
Melton City	Mitchell Shire
Monash City	Moonee Valley City
Moorabool Shire	Moreland City
Mornington Peninsula Shire	Murrindindi Shire
Nillumbik Shire	Port Phillip City
Stonnington City	Whitehorse City
Whittlesea City	Wyndham City
Yarra City	Yarra Ranges Shire

Accessibility

If you have difficulty reading a standard printed document and would like an alternative format, please phone 13 22 81.



If English is not your first language and you need the Translating and Interpreting Service (TIS), please call 13 14 50.

For further accessibility information, visit: www.health.act.gov.au/accessibility

www.health.act.gov.au | Phone: 132281

© Australian Capital Territory, Canberra July 2020

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au