

Building Regulations Amendment

Subordinate Law 2000 No 54

The Australian Capital Territory Executive makes the following regulations under the *Building Act 1972*.

Dated 6 December 2000.

BRENDAN SMYTH Minister

KATE CARNELL Minister

1 Commencement

These regulations commence on the day they are notified in the Gazette.

2 Regulations amended

These regulations amend the Building Regulations.

3 Substitution

Regulation 1 is repealed and the following regulation substituted:

"1 Name of regulations

These regulations are the Building Regulations 1972.".

4 Insertion

The following regulation is inserted at the end:

"22 Exemptions for photovoltaic panels, solar water heaters and airconditioners

- "(1) Parts 3 and 5A of the Act do not apply to building work for the installation, alteration or removal of—
 - (a) an externally mounted photovoltaic panel or solar water heater for a class 1 or class 10a building, if the building work—
 - (i) does not involve any alteration that would affect the structural sufficiency or stability of the building; and
 - (ii) complies with the building code; or
 - (b) an externally mounted airconditioning unit for a class 1 or class 10a building, if—
 - (i) the building work does not involve any alteration that would affect the structural sufficiency or stability of the building; and
 - (ii) the building work complies with the building code; and
 - (iii) the unit is not the main source of ventilation—
 - (A) if the unit is installed for a particular room—for that room; or
 - (B) if the unit is installed for a building—for that building.

Building No 54, 2000

Note The building code includes standards for load bearing and waterproofing.

"(2) In this regulation:

solar water heater, for a building, means a solar water panel designed to be mounted externally, together with any hot water tank that holds water heated by the panel.".

Endnotes

Regulations amended

- 1 Republished as in force on 31 July 1999 (Republication No 4).
- Notified in Gazette 2000 No 51 on 21 December 2000.

© Australian Capital Territory 2000